Back to school update


It’s been a while since I posted an update! I suppose that’s because I keep getting more modest and hence more rarely believe that something I came up with will be interesting to a wide audience. (Though, I assure you, I post just as much mildly amusing crap on Facebook as I always have.)

So I moved into my new apartment last month. I love the location—it’s only a few minutes away from campus so I usually don’t have to get up until about half an hour before my first class each day, and I don’t have class before 11 all week. Of course, I still manage to not get enough sleep, by staying up until 2:30 AM every day. Go figure, right? The only unfortunate thing is that internet access wasn’t provided. I signed up on (I believe) Sep. 6, but couldn’t get a technician to come over and set it up until Sep. 27. I was out of town but I forgot to tell my roommates that there were two technicians scheduled to come over, so we missed the second one and he couldn’t come until a week later, that is, Oct. 4. We also discovered that our modem was broken, so we had to order a new one, which didn’t arrive until last night! (To make things worse, I discovered while trying to configure the modem that my laptop’s Ethernet port is broken. Basically, everything that could go wrong, went wrong.)

I’m taking five courses this term: Introduction to High Energy Physics, Relativity Theory I (i.e., intro to general relativity), Applications of Quantum Mechanics, Organic Chemistry of Biological Compounds, and The Synthesis of Modern Pharmaceutical Agents. I originally wasn’t going to take the synthesis course, because I didn’t want to have to memorize a lot of reactions; instead I signed up for a supposedly easy course on polymers. I dropped it like a hot potato, however, when I found out there was a term paper, and the synthesis course was the least intolerable course that remained. Ironically, I found out the very same day that the quantum mechanics course has a term paper, too, but at least I actually like quantum mechanics.

Contrary to expectation, I managed to get hired as a TA this term. I was hoping for an upper-year course on algorithms or data structures, because that’s my favourite area of CS, of course, but I ended up getting CSC108, an introductory course. Apparently they expanded enrollment by 50% since last year. If that weren’t the case, I probably would not have gotten any TA position at all, since grad students have priority. So really, I can’t complain. (It pays really well, too.)

Oh, and one last thing. I’ve accepted a full-time offer with Google in their Mountain View office, starting next September!

About Brian

Hi! I'm Brian Bi. As of November 2014 I live in Sunnyvale, California, USA and I'm a software engineer at Google. Besides code, I also like math, physics, chemistry, and some other miscellaneous things.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Back to school update

  1. Awesome! I hope the intro course TAing goes well — I know those classes are a lot of work. Congrats on your job!!!

  2. Alyssa says:

    I think you are SO COOL!!!! Can we be friends? I love your posts! Great Job on everything! :)

Leave a Reply

